Our experts are ready
to answer your questions
Call 1-857-214-4450

Modalities In Astrology: Cardinal, Fixed And Mutable Explained By An Astrologer

In astrology, the three modalities are known as; cardinal, fixed and mutable. They each englobe 4 star signs and gift them with certain energies and characteristics. The personalities grouped under the three astrology expressions all belong to different elements which make their qualities even more diverse. Without further ado, it’s time for us to look at the deeper workings of the zodiacal features; so which group are you associated with and how is your personality influenced by this association?

Each zodiac mode is defined by a point within each season. The cardinal signs start a new season, the fixed signs carry the weight of the season (in the middle), and the mutable signs conclude the season.


The 3 modalities in astrology and their elements

The three vibratory zodiac modes are closely related to the rhythm of nature and the seasons. We also notice the different energies for people born at the beginning, middle or end of the season.

Elements and modalities

Main quality

🌟 Discover your destiny with the help of a Psychic! 🌟

What is cardinal mode?

The cardinal signs are Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn. They each mark the start of a new season, which means the main quality of their energy is full of initiative. The cardinal signs are impulsive, dynamic and they always want to start new things. In general, people with cardinal signs in their birth charts come up with more new ideas and projects compared to the natives blessed with more passive energy.

What does the fixed mode mean?

The fixed signs are Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius. These signs carry the weight of each season, which makes them robust. These personalities are capable of a lot of endurance, and in general natives with a lot of fixed energy in their birth charts are stable and focused. Whilst on the other hand, those who lack the energy of the fixed signs may lack perseverance.

What is mutable mode?

The mutable signs are Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces. Since these signs fall at the end of each season, their energy anticipates movement and change. People with mutable signs in their natal charts tend to be more flexible and adaptable to the changing world around them. Those who lack mutable energy are often more stubborn and inflexible.

Astrologist Susan Taylor

Astrologist Susan Taylor's insights:

'Knowing the influence of each mode in your natal chart is very important. These astrological nuances are what shapes us as individuals. Also, going beyond your sun sign is the key to understanding astrology and who you really are.'

How do the modalities impact our personalities?

Each individual represents a mixture of the different signs, elements and modes in their birth chart. Once you understand the energy of each modality and combine this information with what you know about each zodiac sign and its elements, a more complete picture will begin to develop.

Zodiac signs

For example, Aries is the element of Fire and a cardinal sign. This Fire / Cardinal combination is very bold, meaning the more a person has the Aries energy in their natal chart, the more they will dare to do new things. On the other hand, Taurus, an Earth sign with a fixed quality, possess very slow and well grounded energies, meaning these natives reflect more.

The zodiac is a symbolic system composed of 12 signs, which can be seen as 12 versions of the same universal life energy, just like the colours of the prism which together form white. Each one of us possesses ALL the signs within us and the meanings attached to them.

>> Take your knowledge a step further and consult the zodiac elements and calculate your rising sign to complete your personality puzzle.

* Literature Source: The Only Astrology Book You'll Ever Need, Author; Joanna Martine Woolfolk, Published in 2012 and available here: Amazon - The Only Astrology Book You'll Ever Need

By Susan Taylor

Editor in Chief and Astrologist for MyAstroMag - I’ve always been completely fascinated by the world of Astrology and horoscopes. Writing for you and forecasting my exclusive predictions are my main passions.

Editor in Chief and Astrologist for MyAstroMag - I’ve always been completely fascinated by the world of Astrology and horoscopes. Writing for you and forecasting my exclusive predictions are my main passions.

Leave us a comment

Astrological essentials

Learn more about astrology and who you really are thanks to Susan Taylor's explicatory articles.

Ophiuchus: The 13th Zodiac Sign You've Been Waiting For!  Find out everything you need to know.
Rising Sign Calculator  Time to figure yours out.
Zodiac Signs: Dates + Personality Traits  Dates, traits, personality and compatibility.
Moon Signs  The Definition, Its Impact And How To Calculate It

Contact us!