Our experts are ready
to answer your questions
Call 1-857-214-4450

Vedic Astrology: What Is Your Sign and Planet?

There are many differences between Vedic astrology and our more commonly known system practiced in the West. Vedic astrology is also known as Hindu or Jyotish astrology. This particular branch of astrology is prominent for its accuracy and complexity, we’re here to give you an insight into this ancient Indian practice, which was originally used by religious leaders and linked to medicine and chiromancy. This is the place to be to learn about Vedic astrology!

The twelve zodiac signs of Vedic astrology (rāśi) are identical to those of western astrology and the meaning of their Sanskrit name is identical or very close to that of their English names. They are also characterized by a zodiac element (fire, earth, air, water) and a zodiac modality.

Background information on Vedic astrology

Vedic Astrology has been practiced for thousands of years. The earliest writings can be found in the Vedas - ancient spiritual texts from the Hindus - these are the oldest books known on earth, believed to be between 5000 and 8000 years old. The Indian name for this astrology is Jyotish, which means "science of light", because it's the science of observing the celestial bodies that reflect their energy and light on Earth, and consequently influence the course of human events.

Ganesh, the God with the elephant’s head, is also the God of astrology. Western astrologers use sky maps in circular forms, whereas Vedic astrologers use square shaped cards. Vedic astrologers divide the 360 degrees of the zodiac into 27 lunar bases.

- Discover your Indian astrology sign here -


As a rule of thumb, Vedic astrology focuses on the positions of the moon and the ascendants, rather than the sun.

🌟 Discover your destiny with the help of a Psychic! Our readings are completely risk free and accurate! 🌟

Find your planet using your date of birth!

Vedic astrology is based on 9 ruling planets, whereas Indian numerology considers that the meaning of a number between 1 and 9 is linked to an associated planet.

Born on 2, 11, 20 or 29: you are 2 and depend on Chandra (the Moon). Gender: feminine, stone: the pearl

Born on 3, 12, 21, or 30: you are 3 and your planet is Guru (Jupiter). Gender: male, stone: sapphire

Born on 4, 13, 22 or 31: 4 associates you with Rahu (the North Node). Gender: feminine, stone: cat's eye

Born on 5, 14 or 23: your number is the 5 of Buddha (Mercury). Genre: neutral, stone: emerald

Born on 6, 15 or 24: 6 is your number, your planet Shukra (Venus). Gender: feminine, stone: diamond

Born on 7, 16 or 25: you are 7 and depend on Ketu (South Node of the Moon). Genre: neutral, stone

Born on 8, 17 or 26: number 8, Shani (Saturn) is your planet. Genus: neutral, stone: garnet

Born on the 9th, 18th or 27th: with the 9th you depend on Mangal (Mars). Gender: male, stone: red coral or topaz

What is your Vedic sign?

Identify your Western zodiac sign below and discover your Vedic sign and characteristics. 

  • Aries / Meṣa: sign of fire (cardinal) ruled by Mars
    Main characteristics: action, entrepreneurship, idealism
  • Taurus / Vṛṣabha : earth sign (fixed) ruled by Venus
    Main characteristics: hard-working, materialistic, creative, love of beautiful things
  • Gemini / Mithuna: air sign (mutable) ruled by Mercury
    Main characteristics: intellectual research, dissatisfaction, instability
  • Cancer / Karkaṭa: water sign (cardinal) ruled by the Moon
    Main characteristics: intuition, understanding the unconscious and dreams
  • Leo / Siṃha: sign of fire (fixed) ruled by the Sun
    Main characteristics: independence, protection, charisma
  • Virgo / Kanyā: earth sign (mutable) ruled by Mercury
    Main characteristics: search for perfection, repair
  • Libra / Tula: air sign (cardinal) ruled by Venus
    Main characteristics: search for balance and harmony
  • Scorpio / Vṛścika: water sign (fixed) governed by Mars
    Main characteristics: search for spiritual transformation
  • Sagittarius / Dhanus: sign of fire (mutable) ruled by Jupiter
    Main characteristics: multiple activities, trips
  • Capricorn / Makara: earth sign (cardinal) ruled by Saturn
    Main characteristics: a desire to settle accounts with the past
  • Aquarius / Kumbha: air sign (fixed) governed by Saturn
    Main characteristics: a deep sense of responsibility to work for the good of others
  • Pisces / Mīna: water sign (mutable) ruled by Jupiter
    Main characteristics: attraction for understanding the depths of the ocean of consciousness.

More content that will interest you:

By Susan Taylor

Editor in Chief and Astrologist for MyAstroMag - I’ve always been completely fascinated by the world of Astrology and horoscopes. Writing for you and forecasting my exclusive predictions are my main passions.

Editor in Chief and Astrologist for MyAstroMag - I’ve always been completely fascinated by the world of Astrology and horoscopes. Writing for you and forecasting my exclusive predictions are my main passions.

Leave us a comment

Explore your future with our horoscopes!

Daily horoscope  Check out your free daily horoscope, or why not even have it emailed to you?
Weekly Horoscope  Don't miss out on this week's horoscope!
2022 Horoscope  What Have The Stars Prepared For You?
Spring 2022 Horoscope  What's in store for the warmer period of the year?
Tomorrow's Horoscope  Get ahead of the rest!
Spooky Halloween Horoscope  Are you in for a scary night?

2022 Horoscope: all your 2022 zodiac predictions

Pisces 2022 Horoscope  The Year Your Dreams Come True
Aquarius 2022 Horoscope  Success With A Vengeance!
Capricorn 2022 Horoscope  The Stars Are Smiling Down At You
Sagittarius 2022 Horoscope  Evolution In Every Sense
Scorpio 2022 Horoscope  Changes, Challenges, And Love
Libra 2022 Horoscope  Success Is Coming Your Way
Virgo 2022 Horoscope  It’s Time You Took Control
Leo Horoscope 2022  Leave Nothing To Chance
Cancer 2022 Horoscope  You Are Inspiring And Full Of Wisdom
Gemini 2022 Horoscope  A Constructive Year
Taurus 2022 Horoscope  Your Pride Is Your Catalyst
Aries 2022 Horoscope  Reach For The Stars!

Our latest articles

What does the Moon reveal?

Moon Calendar 2022  Which phase is the Moon in today?
The New Moon's Influence on Us  What effects does the New Moon have on us?
The Moon's Influence On Your Libido  Discover The Moon's influence on your sex drive!

2022 star sign predictions

Is your zodiac sign part of our 'most likely to...' rankings for 2022? Find out below!

Are You One Of The Luckiest Zodiac Signs In 2022?  Are you in for good fortune?
Your Zodiac's Worst Month In 2022  What difficulties will you face and when?
Which Zodiac Signs Will Get Rich In 2022?  Will you hit the jackpot?
Which Month Will Be The Luckiest For Your Zodiac Sign?  When will you have the most good fortune in 2022?

Do you have questions about astrology?

What Kind of Friend is Your Sign?  Astrology reveals all!
Gemini in Astrology: We'll tell you everything!  Find out everything you need to know here!
Aries in Astrology: We'll tell you everything!  Find out everything you need to know here!
Taurus in Astrology: We'll tell you everything!  Find out everything you need to know here!
The Zodiac Signs Ranked From Most to Least Honest  Can you really trust your friends?
Your Zodiac’s Surprising Hidden Talent   Singing, dancing or even doing the splits?

What does your sign reveal about you?

The Judgement: The Journey To Self-Discovery  The meaning of the Judgement Tarot card is very motivational.
These 5 Zodiac Signs Hate Being Alone  Are you one of them?
Which Zodiac Signs Are The Best Listeners?  We reveal the top 5 here!
Ranking From The Most To Least Adventurous Zodiac Signs  How free spirited are you? Find out here!

Play for free as many times as you want

What is my dream job?  Your dream job based on your zodiac sign.

Contact us!